Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
HomeMeet our Members

Meet Our Members

   Lawrence D. Sloan,
   President and CEO, Society of Chemical Manufactures and Affiliates

Lawrence D. “Larry” Sloan is President and CEO of the Society of Chemical Manufactures and  Affiliates, the leading trade association serving the specialty chemical industry.  In this capacity, he focuses SOCMA’s efforts on increasing public confidence in this industry sector, championing the passage of rational laws and regulations, and maximizing business opportunities for all SOCMA   member companies. 

 Prior to joining SOCMA, Mr. Sloan served as President of the Adhesive and Sealant Council from January 2005 to February 2010.  Mr. Sloan joined the Council in 2001 as Director Member Services, and was promoted to Senior Director in 2004.   During his tenure, he spearheaded many new projects, including the development of a new ASTM standard for an adhesive CAD symbol and other initiatives designed to help designers and engineers understand the advantages of adhesives over mechanical fasteners.

Mr. Sloan began his career as a chemical engineer at Air Products & Chemicals in Allentown, PA and later worked for Nalco Chemical Company in Naperville, IL in marketing, manufacturing and later sales capacities.  Following this, he worked in his family’s business as a manufacturers' representative selling water and wastewater treatment systems.

Mr. Sloan graduated magna cum laude from the University of Pennsylvania with a BS in Chemical Engineering.  Later he returned to the Kellogg Graduate School of Management at Northwestern University where he earned his MBA.

In 2006, Mr. Sloan received his Certified Association Executive (CAE) designation through the American Society of Association Executives.  He currently serves on the boards of the Chemical Educational Foundation and Société
de Chemie Industrielle, and executive committee of the Chemical Heritage Foundation’s Joseph Priestly Society. In addition, he is a former board member of the National Association of Manufacturers’ Council of Manufacturing Associations, where he served as chairman in 2012.

Member Companies

Alvarez & Marsal
American Chemical Society
American Chemistry Council
BASF Corporation
Citigroup Global Markets Ltd.
Eastman Chemical Company
Ernst & Young LLP
Evercore Partners
FMC Corporation
Forrestal Consultants International
Goldman Sachs & Co.
HSBC Securities (USA) Inc.
Joele Frank Wilkinson Brimmer Katcher
Kuraray America Inc.
McKinsey & Company
Mitsui & Co. (USA), Inc.
Monsanto Company
Parchem-Fine & Specialty Chemicals
PolyOne Corporation
PVS Chemicals
Reliance Industries Limited
Solvay S.A.
Tata Consultancy Services 
The Chemical Heritage Foundation
The Chemists' Club
Toray Industries, Inc.